Young Women’s Christian Association of Nigeria is a voluntary, non-political, non-profit intergenerational women’s organisation with membership strength of 20,000 women, young women and girls in 132 branches spread across 20 states of the federation including the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja. It was established in 1906 and has its headquarters domiciled at 8, Moloney Street, Lagos. YWCA of Nigeria cuts across religion, race and status in its affiliation to the World YWCA – the oldest and largest network of 25 Million women and girls advocating for peace, justice, human rights and care for the environment in 132 countries and has been at the forefront of raising the status of women for more than a century. YWCA of Nigeria has special consultative status with the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations and has been in partnership with a wide range of Multinational Organisations and Donors.


  • To unite members in groups for fellowship, service and activities which will promote their spiritual, mental, social and physical welfare.
  • To awaken in them a sense of social responsibility which will result in the betterment of their communities
  • To foster understanding and appreciation of the beliefs and customs of other tribes and nationalities


Every four years, YWCA of Nigeria holds its National Quadrennial Convention to ratify National Council decisions on its policies, constitution, strategic direction and budget. Representatives from 167 branches across the country participate in the Convention activities, one significant one of which is to elect 13 women and young women to the National Executive Committee – the governing body of YWCA of Nigeria which executes decisions of the National Council, working closely with the National Office which handles the day to day operations of the organisation.

The National Council which comprises of 3 representatives who are full members of YWCA of Nigeria from each branch in the country, is the highest decision making body of the organisation. The National Council meets annually to make decisions on the organisation’s policies, constitution, and strategic direction for the upcoming years.

   Present  National Officers

Mrs. Temilade Gbolahan – National President

Mrs. Onyeka Udegbunam – 1st National Vice President

Mrs. Faith Chem Jadu  – 2nd National Vice President

Mrs. Dora Toyin Akinyemi – 3rd National Vice President

Miss Busola Bankole – Honourary –  National Recording Secretary

Mrs. Virginia Nkemdilim Udeh – Honourary National Treasurer.


Mayowa Oluwatoyin Oni-Orisan                     NATIONAL GENERAL SECRETARY

  • Mrs. Anuoluwa Kosoko   – Chair,Building& Hostel Committee
  • Mrs. Christiana Sefi Ajayi – Chair, Health, Environment and Refugee Committee
  • Mrs. Nkeiru Arah              – Chair, Ecumenical Committee
  • Mrs. Funmilola Mobolaji-Ajasa         – Chair, Publicity, Newsletter and Education Committee
  • Mrs. Amaka Ezekwere               – Chair, Membership Committee
  • Mrs. Christy Onabu              – Chair, Fundraising Committee
  • Lady Chikwue Ochiagha – Immediate Past National President